Day 5

February 27, 2006

Day 5 is a rough one. Days 1 through 4 of a major breakup are full of what I like to call “survival challenges.” Those days are so full of activities that must be completed quickly that there’s no time to rest and write so I apologize that this entry is minus the juicy breakup details. The first few days after having your heart crushed are all about packing, moving, and erasing all the memories of him from every part of your life. I left out the biggest part…repeating the story for what seems like a hundred times to all your friends and family. But of course it’s during those days that your friends want to tell how much they didn’t care for the guy. Where were you like 3 years ago?!! On day 5, once everyone knows the story, the gravity of the situation sets in. You begin to realize why dogs were put on this earth. Day 5 is a lonely one. You don’t know where you packed your shoes or what you’re going to eat for dinner. You start thinking about what went wrong and what you could’ve done to prevent the breakup from happening. Personally, I don’t think I could’ve done anything short of becoming a born-again Christian, stay-at-home mom who likes to surf, play guitar, swim and listen to Jimmy Buffett. So during day 5, I’m going to concentrate on myself and resist the urge to think about what he’s doing. Because I know that while I’m at home cuddling with my dog, he’s running the streets like a dog in heat. Wish me strength.

Leave a Reply

