Day 35–She works hard for the money

March 28, 2006

So I met mom and grandma. I don't know what happens when you reach the silver years but apparently you just don't care anymore and don't understand why you should pay for things if they can fit in your purse. In the middle of a very quiet theatre all you can hear is his grandma passing a crusty old plastic bag full of cookies around. She even somehow managed to stuff a few cans of soda in there in case one of us was thirsty. She's a hoot! His mom is nice enough but I'm sensing a little bit of conservatism in her. Plus, as she was telling me childhood tidbits about Mr. Right Now, she refers to him as "my baby boy." Oh no.

Mr. Right Now is doing a very good job of trying to sweep me off my feet. I keep quizzing him about the hard topics like politics and religion and they're just bouncing off him. I of course keep hoping to find a dealbreaker in there somewhere. He's got all the right answers so far. I'm still being snooty about the construction job thing, but I guess as long as he makes good money that's all that matters. Mom says she just pretends her good husband doesn't work at Wal-mart, the evil christian empire. It's not like I could or would ever meet a trust-fund guy anyways. I've heard the stories but I've never met of those kind out.

Leave a Reply

